The Okemos Educational Foundation Award Banquet Brings Excellence to the Kellogg Center

The Okemos Educational Foundation  
Award Banquet Brings Excellence to 
the Kellogg Center

OKEMOS - On Thursday, November 19th the Kellogg Center at Michigan State University, 219 S. Harrison Road, East Lansing, Michigan was home to the Okemos Education Foundation (OEF) Award Banquet.

According to OEF Board Chair, Martha Hentz, the OEF has a tradition of hosting annual awards ceremonies to honor faculty and volunteers who make a positive impact in the Okemos School District.

“The event is not only a celebration of the individual contributions of those being honored, but it is also a celebration for the Okemos Public School District and their dedication to providing our students with a world-class education," states Hentz.

The keynote speaker of the evening was
Deb Borton- McDonough who received the first "Commitment to Excellence" award by the OEF in 1997.

And the event was hosted by WKAR's Mark Bashore.

The 2015 Okemos Education Foundation Award Recipients included:

Commitment to Excellence Award Recipients:

Ashley Andersen (Cornell, 2nd grade)
Kara Dokter (CMS, 7th)
Alison Evenson (CMS, Counselor)
Amy Petersburg (Cornell, Kindergarten)
Kris Schoen (Cornell, Kindergarten)

Each recipient of the Commitment to Excellence Award will receive a $1,000 grant from the OEF for educational purposes.

Special Recognition Award Recipients:

The Media and Technology Team

Erin Chapman (Director of Media and Technology)
Matthew Ethington (Desktop Technician)
Ryan Lewis (Network Security Technician)
Kathy Nicholas (Data Processing Specialist)
Matt Ottinger (Telecommunications Coordinator)
Drew Sartorius (Network Technician)

Volunteer Service Award:

Tammy Deppong (Okemos Parent)

Chippewa Middle School Teacher, Kara Dokter, mentions” I had been nominated before and hadn't actually won so I appreciate the honor.”

"Okemos is a great place to learn and teach, and it is feels great to know you are appreciated."

Nominations for the awards were submitted on June 12th, 2015.

According to the OEF website, Any Okemos resident, parent, or school employee may nominate an educator for the "Commitment to Excellence Award" in the Okemos Public School District based on the following criteria:

• Inspiring and motivating students
• Promoting the welfare of students
• Implementing innovative and/or creative ideas
• Providing Leadership within the school community

For more information on the Okemos Education Foundation, visit the website at .
or contact by mail:
Okemos Education Foundation
4406 Okemos Rd.
Okemos, MI 48864

Additional Resources

Meridian Weather